An Inconvenient Truth (“Everyone lies, nobody minds, everyone lies”)

22 Jan

Dear Internet,

I got a letter just the other day, and it read something like “save the environment. Get your bills electronically.” At a price of course. E-mail isn’t free

That got me wondering.

I started to think about the environment, and why it is that every time I hear “environment” I think of Mr Gore. Al Gore; the saviour of our environment. Just like Bono is the saviour of starving children and Barack Obama is the saviour of the US. It’s funny how hard they work with so little results. Hmm, I wonder why?

Yes, I saw Al Gore in front of me so clearly. The winner of the Nobel Peace prize and author of “An Inconvenient Truth” and the star and writer of the academy award winning documentary An Inconvenient Truth (2006). Now I haven’t seen An Inconvenient Truth, nor have I read the book. But I have seen The Day After Tomorrow (2004), and to my understanding they are basically the same. The only difference is that An Inconvenient Truth has fewer special effects (it is a documentary after all).

Why nothing?Now, I don’t want to sound cynical or paranoid, but… How should I put it without sounding to blunt? He hasn’t done anything for the environment. But perhaps he has only made it worse with his travels across the earth with the gospel of Avatar (I haven’t seen that movie either) and he has started a panic in the public that distract us from the real issues (i.e Why is it just Bono and Geldof that are getting rich on Band-Aid? Why hasn’t anything really changed in our lifetimes except technology? If science is better than religion (as history proves) who invented regular bomb, a-bomb, anthrax in a box, exploding air planes in high-rising towers and everything that gives us “global warming”? How can knowing I am a mutated monkey give me peace? Why do some people believe that the solutions to all problems lie in a political system? etc.).

Now why is it that I have to sort my garbage (“recycle” as it’s called in Newspeak) while Al Gore can travel around the world winning prizes by giving us new rushes of guilt?

But that is not what I would call the “Inconvenient Truth”. Al Gore is nothing. He’s just a man that sheeople around the world has given way to much credit. Nothing new there. We give praise to anyone who would say something “nice” and perhaps add something that we at the time would label “important”.

The “REAL” inconvenient “truth” is that “saving the environment” has become BIG BUSINESS. Al Gore has become richer and that’s just one man. It has developed an enormous industry for any smug fuck and brain-dead person with anxiety who desperately tires “to save the world before it’s to late”. Oh yes, everyday we are guilt tripped to pay more for less and buy the next nonsense that will help us making less trash.

When I went to school (yes, I can read and write) we had a history teacher that was asingle-theory-that-explains-everything” maniac (see illustration to the left) and what he claimed was that “what every financial depression needs is a war” as it builds the economy by buying bombs, soldiers and building new building where now was only rubble (see GNP).

If that is true, then perhaps the war on terror wasn’t good enough? Perhaps we needed a war on something else? Global warming, get it? Has anything changed except the prices and choices? Think about it. Is there less starving children now than when Bono started. Are the Muslims out of Guantanmo yet? Have Al Gore gotten fatter since his fight against pollution started? You should ask more questions, bitch! You should… Ahh, who cares!

I have a headache now. WHY DO I HAVE TO THINK SO MUCH! It would have been nicer to just relax. I have heard that weed will make me a liberal idiot who doesn’t question anything except those who question. Perhaps I should start to smoke that like a cigarette? I’ve seen it in all the cool movies and every cool relaxed character use it.

But is it good for the environment?

Fuck…

THERE I GO AGAIN!

Questioning everything!

FUCK!

2 Responses to “An Inconvenient Truth (“Everyone lies, nobody minds, everyone lies”)”

  1. Mike January 25, 2010 at 11:27 pm #

    Yes, too much bullshit going on, really. You catched here some good examples… But at the end of the day, we’re the owners of our minds, words and actions.. What’s sad is that many people does not take de time to realize it, and then, to act in consequence.
    Nice post I really enjoyed it!

    • AndyAce83 January 26, 2010 at 11:08 am #

      Thank you. That’s very nice of you:)

      I always like compliments.

      You said; “But at the end of the day, we’re the owners of our minds, words and actions. What’s sad is that many people does not take de time to realize it, and then, to act in consequence”

      I agree. Another part of it that really annoys me is the words of mouth knowledge that so many people throw around, like; “Every politician lies”, “honesty is the best policy” and “we get the leaders we deserve”. Then everybody nods and does NOTHING. It’s like they know it in their minds, but there’s no feelings behind it.

Anything on your mind? I am listening:

