Let’s talk about the truth. (Wear sunscreen)

20 Sep

What is the truth? «The world is round». «Social-democratic society are the closest thing to utopia we can ever come». «If you are a racist then you are evil». «Smoking marijuana is not dangerous and should be legal». «Prostitution is a problem that comes from a patriarchal society, and it should be illgal to buy, to keep the male psycho-sexual drifts in check». «Stig Larson is one of our times greatest authors and died because he told us the truth». «An apple a day, keeps the doctor a way». «The attack on the world tradecentre was staged by the US government to be allowed to go to war for oil». «Jews are greedy people who will manipulate to get what they want». «Smoking kills more people than all the wars put together.»

All of this saying have been claimed to be the truth. THE TRUTH! Now what is the truth? If we talk about specific truth we are going to have a hard time, but if we talk about truth in general there might be some definitions we all can agree on.

When I was a teenager, I started to think a lot, since I didn’t have any hobbies or girlfriends. To think is the road to madness, but I sort of kept my feet on the ground. And when it came to truth I thought that there were two kinds of truths. I called them objective and subjective truths. When I started to tell people about this, I also started to get a lot of woman attention. Woman seemed just to go crazy by this thought. It was a real Spanish fly, a great aphrodisiac.  What I said in a soft voice in their ears was that «you have a subjective truth, how the world seems to the individual and a objective truth, how the world is without our perceptions of it. The last one is the real truth, but it is really hard to get insight to it and therefore subjective truth under questioning should be good enough».

Sweet memories!

Well, as any kid, I thought I was original. I knew something nobody else knew. I withhold some kind of great knowledge no teacher, or politician or anyone else could understand. I was a genius. Like any teenager I knew. I knew! I was certain. The defining power was mine. So…

So it turned out I wasn’t as original as I once thought. I started to study at (in, on?) college where we had mandatory philosophy studies and as it turned out a guy called Kant (1724-1804) had said just about the same thing. He called my «subjective truth» as «Ding für mich» (Things for me) and my «objective truth» as «Ding an sich» (Things of them self). Of course his thoughts were more elaborate then mine. He had even written a book about it, “Critique of Practical Reason“, while I had just used it as a pick-up-line for woman who like the vagina monologes..

Now, what’s the point of all this? The point is that all of truths that I started this text with, are opinions, not facts, and I am getting quite tired of people always laying there truth upon my head as a «matter of fact». Just because everybody else believes it does not make it true! We have to have a cleansing ritual were we all say «all I know is that I know nothing» (I came up with that you know).

And what’s the point of this point? Well, all I want to say is that there are too many people claiming to know the truth, and they may be right, but we have to ask our self the most important question of all; What does it help this «truth»?

For example take this «truth», that so many young whipper-snappers tell, «Smoking marijuana is not dangerous and should be legal». So what? In what way would legalizing another drug make anything better? Doesn’t the use of this drug stimulate a person culturally to believe that he or she is a very fascinating person and a rebel? And if so, if this drug is illegal, doesn’t it work as a buffer for people with a need to rebel to not start using harder drugs? My opinion (and its only my opinion) is that it’s better that a angry teen smokes marijuana illegally when they have the need to rebel than smoking crack. And that if we legalize this particular drug, then the need to be an individual will still be strong in many teens and they will then start to use harder drugs to get the same satisfaction.

Another example is: «The attack on the world trade centre was staged by the US government to be allowed to go to war for oil». Now, this might be the truth too, but what prof have we seen? Strange explosion pattern as the plane enters the building, media seems to know what happened strangely fast, some Jew conspiracy that says there weren’t any Jew inn the building (or something like that) and lots more. Yes, all of those theories might be true, but what does it help to believe it? Where does healthy scepticism go to become sickly paranoia? How constructive is it to go around believing that the government (or an unknown shadow government) wants to get you? Sometimes we have to believe a lot of small lies, to believe one big truth (or something like that).

Now, what’s the point too the point of the point? I don’t know, and that’s the point, and neither do you. But if we should know something, it should be constructive and helpful. I am not a sceptic or a true believer. I don’t question everything or claim to know something completely. I wonder, think, feel and have opinions. That’s all.

Someone said somthing like «Teenagers think adults are stupid, adults know that teenagers are.» I couldn’t agree more. If you are under the age of 20 you should keep your mouth shout and listen instead. You really don’t know anything, at least that’s my opinon.

It's pretty, ain't it?

It's pretty, ain't it?

Anything on your mind? I am listening:

